Belleoram is a small community located in Fortune Bay, on the South Coast of Newfoundland. It is built along a narrow strip of sloping land at the base of steep, ridged hills. Belleoram has a large sheltered harbour because a long piece of land extends to the northwest and protects the community from the sea.
Belleoram dates back to 1774. The French used the area and called it "Bande de Laurier." By 1713, the Treaty of Utrecht had forced the French to leave. In 1718, Captain Tavenor sailed around the south of Newfoundland and called it "Belorme's Place." In the 17th century, a French adventurer wintered there for 20 years, and he was the first to name the community Belleoram.
A Dorchester man named Parsons, is said to be the first English settler in Belleoram, followed by another Dorchester man named John Cluett. Other people came from the west of England as servants to the early planters.
The Anglican Church in Belleoram, locally known as the "Cathedral of the South Coast" was built in 1891 and consecrated as St. Lawrence Church in 1901. The Church is representative of Gothic architecture, a style of architecture developed in Western Europe between the 12th and 16th centuries.
Visit the John Cluett Heritage House which was built about 1844 and is best described as being a "saltbox," one of the simplest forms of architecture and common amongst early settlers. The Cluett House, which is over 150 years old, is constructed mainly of original timber.
Attend the Ironskull Folk Festival, which is an annual event held the third weekend of July every year. The festival takes advantage of the areas rich musical talent as a collaboration of many Newfoundland artists graciously provided their talents to make this annual event a success.
Experience true Newfoundland music and culture over this three-day event. Ironskull Festival takes its name from the mountain located across the harbour. A trail provides visitors with the opportunity to hike to the summit and experience a spectacular view of the surrounding coastline.