The community of River of Ponds, whose name originates from the scenic river nearby, is a sports fisherman's paradise. The river is connected by a series of ponds from the head waters of the Long Range Mountains to the Atlantic Ocean, and is one of Newfoundland's most popular scheduled salmon rivers.
From the early 1700s, the French maintained some seasonal fishing premises on the river and it was known by them as Rivieres des Rochs (River of Rocks). The name "River of Ponds" was first used by Captain James Cook in 1770. The first English settler is believed to be Charles Paine who lived there around 1870. Salmon and cod fisheries were important to the community during the 1800s and by the early 1900s the area became popular to American sports fisherman because of its abundant salmon runs.
Today, the river remains a major tourism attraction for sports fisherman. Visit the man-made breakwater and beachfront for a unique view of the Newfoundland inshore fishery. Local fishermen continue to fish cod, lobster, and other ground fish.
In recent years the outfitting business has also become a popular attraction, and a major source of employment in the community, with hunters from across North America visiting the area to hunt big game in the interior.
River of Ponds Park & Campgrounds provides summer recreation and is one of the most popular parks in the region. From the boat landing you can get a fantastic view of Blue Mountain.
Berry pickers would find a paradise nearby, with raspberries, blueberries, partridgeberries, bakeapples, gooseberries, marsh berries, and dogberries in season.
The pristine seashore at River of Ponds Brook and the Sprity Cove road with a magnificent view of the Atlantic Ocean is an interesting and remote part of the Ingornachoix Bay.