Just 15 minutes from downtown St. John's and 5 minutes from St. John's Airport, The town offers services such as recreational facilities and a Kinsmen Community Centre which has programs for all ages.
For the visitor who enjoys the outdoors, the town's Gully Wetlands Preservation Area Protects a wide array of species of birds and flora. outdoor classes are held to allow visitors to watch and learn about these species in their natural habitat. The Father Troy Walking trail which is suitable for novice to experienced hikers leads to the edge of the cliffs along the coast all the way to Flatrock. It links into the East Coast Trail.
During mid summer visitors can swim in the fresh water of Whiteways Pond or relax in the sun on the shore. The Torbay Museum, which has won the prestigious manning Award, Illustrates the town's almost 400 year history.
Torbay is named for its similarity to an area in Devonshire, England. The area was first mapped in 1615 by John Mason when he was governor of the Cuper's Cove Colony. The word Tor, is an old Anglo-Saxon term for tower, referring to the huge cliffs of the town which are tower-like.
Designated a National Historic Site in 1952, the town of Torbay played a role in the recapture of St. John's from the French. Colonel William Amherst and his British Forces landed in Torbay in 1762 to commence the Battle of Signal Hill. The French surrendered to the British forces under Colonel Amherst's command.