The Ryan Premises National Historic Site of Canada commemorates five centuries of commercial fishing on Canada's east coast.
A 19th century saltfish mercantile complex, the site was officially opened
opened to the public on June 24th, 1997 by her majesty Queen Elizabeth II.
This restored merchant's premises served as a key economic centre behind Newfoundland's inshore fishery in the early 1800s. The buildings include Proprietor's House, Retail Shop. Fish Store, Salt Shed and Carriage Shed.
On site attractions include the internationally acclaimed exhibit, Cod, Seals and Survivors, which features multi-media displays, models, dioramas, archival films, artifacts, traditional songs and interactive components. The Bonavista Museum is housed on site and its exhibit, Where Once They Stood: Life and Work in a Fishing Community, features hundreds of artifacts from the local community. Other exhibits include Outport Furniture: Adaptation, Revival and Culture and rotating exhibits of local artwork in the gallery spaces.
During the high season, visitors are offered various special events and interpretative programs, including live musical and dramatic performances, demonstrations of traditional fishing skills, and a new living history program that allows visitors to speak with employees of James Ryan circa 1900. Please call ahead for program schedules.
The Ryan Premises Heritage Gift Shop, is operated by the Historic Sites Association of Newfoundland and Labrador, offers unique locally produced souvenirs, crafts, books and clothing for sale.
Season: May 15 - Oct 15 , 10am - 6pm
Location: Ryan's Hill and Old Catalina Road, Bonavista
P.O. Box 1451
Canada, A0C 1B0
Toll Free Telephone: 800-213-7275
Off Season Telephone: 709-533-2801
Off Season Fax: 709-533-2706