Bunyan's Cove is located in a small cove on the south side of Clode Sound, about 15 minutes from Port Blandford on Route 233.
It was one of the latest areas to be settled in Bonavista Bay. Bunyan's Cove was first settled by George and Joseph Martin and their mother Elizabeth in the late 1800's. They left Elliston in a small rowboat with the idea of moving further up the bay. They landed in the upper part of Bunyan's Cove which they named "Peter's Cove". As time went on, more and more people continued to move to Bunyan's Cove, settling in the middle and lower parts of the cove.
Even today, locals still call the upper section of this quaint little community Peter's Cove. Here, the view of the Bay is breathtaking. You can watch boats traveling up and down the Bay on any beautiful summer day.
War Memorial Site
Bunyan's Cove has a War Memorial Monument in memorial of locals who were in WWI & WWII. Located on the Main Road through the community just past the Brook Bridge.
Old Road Trail
Hike along the trail that used to be the old Main Road. Along the trail is a Community Wharf sponsored by the Port Blandford-Winterbrook Development Association, an old cemetery, and breathtaking vies of Clode Sound. Access to this trail is at the end of Hobb's road. Please Note: This trail is not maintained and is to be used at own risk.